top of page

My 14 year old tried a POPSUGAR recipe... and loved it.

“Do you guys have any salad?” Those were the words spoken out of my then 12 year old sons mouth, while at a sleepover at my sister and brother in laws. “Umm?” It was almost midnight and they had been up playing Uno all night at a very Strange level of competitiveness. If you knew my brother ( he played professional basketball after college ) but also plays chess and basketball with my 60 something mother and 8 year old daughter with that same level of competitiveness, you would understand. “Do you have balsamic?” My son then proceeded to say. Huh? I can picture both their faces looking at each other. I remember as teenager. (I had my son at 19. ) I was on the way to a Narsisco Rodriguez casting and I’m sitting at a table in Greenwich village. And there’s this boy had to been about no more than twelve years old. Now mind you I’m from upstate New York, ( not white plains) We’re from Syracuse. We have culture but there’s just some things you don’t expect to see in life. And as I sat at that table I watched this young man who could be now more than twelve with his skate board in his hand. Order lox on his bagel with cream cheese and capers and I knew right then and there that that’s how I wanted My child to be. Cultured. Cool. Not pretentious, but educated. I would later have this said child and he would come to skate which would terrify me daily and find myself on a first name basis with the ER residents, but the taste stuck. And I’m ever so grateful. Thank you by the way Crouse, I owe you many years of piece of mind. So this sandwich that cost maybe 5 dollars at best that not only fed my enormous thirst for my child’s extensive palate, that I so strongly desired for. I hang my head as I write this, but also my midnight craving after having a few too many fizzing drinks after a enormously stressful week. And I have to tell you, it did not disappoint. Drum roll please It requires all of 5 ingredients which is: Ciabatta Brie Peaches Honey Butter And a strong desire to eat. I used basic pans with butter, if you have a panini press, I too had nice things before parenthood. Congratulations. J/k, I imagine that too is fantastic. Butter both ends of your bread. Drizzle peaches with honey, add some Brie, and voila cultured.

Hope you enjoy your Tuesday. Stay Classy Sandiego.


bottom of page